In a classroom not too far away…#mtbos30

 

Last year, in my first year as a Math teacher, I wanted to create an atmosphere that was a bit more interesting than just a math classroom. Superhero movies were coming out left and right, so I wondered if I could come up with some sort of tie to it, and here’s what I came up with:

  1. Superheroes solve problems.
  2. Math has problems.
  3. You solve math problems.
  4. Therefore you are, a superhero!

Cheesy, I know.  I had great plans to come up with superhero questions to post on my board, but after I posted my first one, I didn’t do it again. I had the room setup with tables, and above each table I hung a mobile of some comic book pages from a specific superhero group. The groups were: X-Men, Justice League, Fantastic Four, Avengers, Transformers, and Teen Titans. During the first half of the year, whenever I called on a table to give a specific answer, I would call out the team name. I created these by buying some comic books from the store, cutting out the pages, and then taking some foamcore and cutting pieces and taping them into boxes, and then I attached the pages with the spray glue.

mobile1mobile2

It definitely generated some interest, and I had several conversations with students during the year of “who is better, Deadpool or Superman?” I caught several of the students just gazing at the comic book mobiles before, during, and after class. I think if I would have stuck with it, it could have been cooler.

This year, I played with a new theme, possibly one involving tools, trying to get students to see that they have different tools to use in their math tool box to create solutions to problems. But then I saw this post, and I knew what I had to do next:

 

mathwars-800

 

jedi rubricI love the Jedi Master rubric, and feel that it is something that we can do to carry it through the year.  It’s all a great idea now, but we shall see how it works throughout the rest of the year.

 

 

 

 

*Update – 7/5/14  – I didn’t know if it would be helpful, but I decided to go ahead and post a few of the files I used for my superhero theme last year.

3 comments

  1. I love the jedi master rubric, what a great idea! I am planning on doing superhero theme this year, not sure how I am going to tie it into class, but just for decorating purposes.

    Like

    1. Radicalrobin, thanks for stopping in! I updated my post with a link to a couple of my files I used, feel free to do whatever with them. I had great intentions of doing a vocab wall with the words printed in a comic book font, and cutting it out with jagged edges to make it look like the old Batman show with “Pow!” “Bam!” I did it at the beginning of the year and never followed up.

      Like

  2. Love this and your growth mindset posters too. Thanks for sharing!
    Definitely going to put the Superhero ‘maths mindset’ into action.

    Like

Leave a Reply

